Australia Announced their squad for ICC MEN’s T20 World Cup 2022

Australia Announced their squad for ICC MEN’s T20 World Cup 2022


Australia has announced their Squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 which will start in Australia from October 16th. Australia is the defending champion and they will defend the trophy because they won the last World Cup in dubai. They beat New Zealand in the final and Pakistan in the Semi Final.

Australia announced their 15-member squad where Tim David earned a maidan call because of his brilliant performances in the PSL 2022 and IPL 2022. The captain of Australia is Aaron finch who will led the side for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Moreover, Mitchell Swepson who is leg spinner also get dropped.



This squad is quite similar with the one who won the ICC T20 WORLD CUP 2021. According to the statement came from Chairman of selectors George bailey “This is a similar squad to that which became the first Australian’s men’s team to win a T20 World Cup, who are now very excited about playing the tournament at home,”

Moreover, he also talked about Mitchell swepson who has been dropped for the ICC T20 WORLD CUP 2022. He said that, “Mitchell Swepson was unlucky to miss out based on conditions in the UAE at the last World Cup where we planned for tired, spinning wickets compared to what we would expect are good batting conditions along with the larger grounds in Australia.”

Moreover, Bailey further said that, “Tim (David) continues to establish himself with some quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a highly gifted, natural ball striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket in recent times. We expect him to play a similar role to that he has been playing in the past few years,”


Australia squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022: 

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Moreover, shane Watson also thinks that this tournament will be one of the great. He further added that,

Leave a Comment