3.4 C
Wednesday, December 1, 2021

Thought-provoking analysis of the cyber arms race wins the Financial Times/McKinsey Book Award


Nicole Perlroth’s thought-provoking investigation into the cyber arms race, That’s how they told me the end of the world, Has been named the best business book of 2021 by the Financial Times and McKinsey.

The judges praised Perlroth’s unprecedented in-depth analysis, which they said opened their eyes to the possibility of cyber disasters.

Roula Khalaf, editor and chairman of the judges of the British “Financial Times” said: “Cybersecurity has not received enough attention on the CEO’s agenda. I hope this award will motivate them to read and pay attention to this book.”

In the preface to her book published by Bloomsbury, Perlroth hopes that it will “bring a glimmer of light to the highly confidential and largely invisible cyber weapons industry, so that we can… now have some necessary conversations. , Lest it’s too late”.

The £30,000 prize was first awarded in 2005 and awarded to the book that presented “the most compelling and enjoyable insight” into business issues.

McKinsey’s European managing partner Magnus Terriman presented the award to Perros at an awards ceremony in London. He said it was an “astounding book” that “has become a global computer system. How fragile, it provides a compelling, detailed and realistic case. Even it urgently calls for concrete and systematic actions.”

At the same ceremony, scholars Ines Lee and Eileen Tipoe won the Bracken Bower Award worth £15,000 in recognition of their best business book proposal for authors under the age of 35. Failed classroom, On the future of higher education.

Tony Danker, Director General of CBI, British Business Association, was the guest speaker.

Five other authors Shortlisted books Received 10,000 pounds. The other finalists are: World for sale, Written by Javier Blas and Jack Farchy, on commodity prosperity; Empire of Pain, Patrick Radden Keefe on the popularity of Purdue Pharmaceuticals, the Sackler family and opioids; dialogue, Written by Robert Livingston, on race and racism in work and society; New climate war, Written by Michael E Mann, on how to deal with climate change; and Nobility of talent, By Adrian Wooldridge (Adrian Wooldridge), on the backlash against elite rule.

Last year’s winner was Sarah Frier No filter, Her analysis of the development of social media company Instagram and its acquisition by Facebook.

The other judges for the 2021 awards are: Mimi Alemayehou, Senior Vice President of Public-Private Partnerships, MasterCard Humanitarian and Development Group; Mitchell Baker, CEO of Mozilla Corporation; Mohamed El-Erian, Dean of Queen’s College, University of Cambridge, Allianz and Adviser to Gramercy; Herminia Ibarra, Professor of Organizational Behavior, London Business School; James Kondo, Chair of Japan International House; Randall Kroszner, Professor of Economics and Associate Dean of Executive Programs, University of Chicago Booth School of Business; Raju Narisetti, McKinsey Global Publisher; and Shriti Vadera, Chairman of Prudential.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here